Posada

Standard

Yesterday I went to a Mexican friend’s house and celebrated the Posada. It’s a Mexican traditional form of celebrating Christmas. It’s usually celebrated from December 16th -the 24th and is a re-enactment of the events Joseph and Mary went through trying to find somewhere to stay the night when she gave birth. Sure, I don’t celebrate Christmas but my friends do so I went to share their joy and fun.

It was really nice because I had always wanted to see a Posada celebration ever since I saw it on the Disney video, “The Three Caballeros”. Well instead of seeing it I was a part of it and it was pretty cool and fun. We did as much laughing as we did singing and that is probably because it’s usually children who do the singing and the adults in the house sing the response but there weren’t any kids yesterday so everyone felt kind of shy.

Anyway, I got a chance to taste Flan; and it was delicious.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

