Falling Apart

Standard

I feel like I’m falling apart.
The pain in my back makes my hands feel numb
The pain in my knee is a torn meniscus
I limp when I walk, I groan when I stand
And I wake up at night with pain in my hand

All of this is bothersome because it makes me
Feel like I’m falling apart.
Like Fall Apart Rabbit on that cartoon
Poor little thing couldn’t keep it together
But at least he could put his parts back

Unlike me who just feels very old.
Old and cold and rusty and run down and
Feeling like I’m falling apart
But getting older isn’t for sissies; is it?
And I’m nobody’s sissy. And I’m never getting old

At least I’ll never act like it
Because age is a state of mind
You’re only as old as you feel, So although
I feel like I’m falling apart
I’m not going to act like it.

I’m going to walk without limping
I’m going to pray as usual, not in a chair
I am going to carry on as usual; standing tall
Because who has time to cry. So I won’t act like
I feel like I’m falling apart.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

