Birth Days

Standard

On my children’s birthdays I always remember the events of the day they were born. This is the birthday of my second son, third child.
On that day my two older children were waiting for the school bus. It was going to be the first day the Clara Muhammad School would be getting City School District buses to take them to school. Sister Najmah got the school so well prepared that it was recognized by the city as a viable school and therefore eligible for City School District buses. So I got up, got them dressed in their uniforms, (green skirt and gold blouse for the girl, black pants and yellow shirt for the boy) fed them breakfast and waited for the bus which would pick them up right at the front door. Once the bus drove off with the children I turned to my husband and said, “Okay, now you can take me to the hospital; I’ve been having contractions all morning.” I didn’t want to say anything because I didn’t want the little ones to worry. It was a Monday; like today.
That was over twenty years ago and I can still remember it like it was last week. After I remember the birth I start going over moments with that child. Remembering events in their life at different ages; things that I had all but forgotten until the day of their birth. Wishing I had savored those moments more. Realizing just how precious those moments were. If I could only go back; how much more I would get out of those times. But at the same time being grateful for what I did get out of those moments and thanking Allah (God) for the blessing of memory to be able to relive them.
Now by the time we get to the 10th we will have celebrated 3 birthdays in this family (just MY little part of the family) the 7th and the 10th, not to mention my sister on the 15th, my niece on the 6th, and my other nieces on the 18th & 19th. We know how to start the year off partying don’t we.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

