Playing In The Yard

Standard

I remember playing in the yard with my siblings

Days when the sun seemed to shine brighter in the sky

When the roses gave off more perfume

And I could smell them from three feet away.

 

That yard was the world and I needed no more

Those days when the sun seemed to shine brighter

In the eyes of a child that makes everything intense

And I could smell the roses from three feet away

 

My yard was the world and I needed no more

My brothers and sisters the people

My childlike eyes made everything intense

The blessing that makes children’s lives wonderful

 

My brothers and sisters peopled my world

Where the roses gave off more perfume

In that blessing that makes children’s lives wonderful

Where my siblings and I play in my memory.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

