Feeding the Birds

Standard

This poem, as well as the previous one are a form called The Pantoum. What I like about the Pantoum is that I feel like I’m writing half a poem because the second and fourth line of each quatrain (group of four lines) become the first and third line of the next quatrain and I only have to come up with something new for the 2nd and 4th lines; until you get to the last verse and you use the first and third line of the first quatrain becomes the second and fourth lines. I like to switch them around and make the 3rd line the 2nd and the first line the 4th that way you begin and end with the same line.

Sparrows land in front of my house
To eat the breadcrumbs that I throw there
Their brown and black feathers bland but pretty
They come back every day

They eat the breadcrumbs that I throw there
On the sidewalk in front of my house
Coming back everyday
To see what I’ve left for them

On the sidewalk in front of my house
I see robins and cardinals with the sparrows
To see what I’ve left for them
Amongst the breadcrumbs I leave for the sparrows

I see robins and cardinals with the sparrows
Their brown and black feathers bland but pretty
Amongst the breadcrumbs that I leave
For the sparrows that land in front of my house

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

