Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Standard

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?
Of course it is possible to be too honest. I was too honest once when I told a friend of mine that he had a booger hanging out of his nose. I figured since it was so obvious that everyone at the table had seen it so it wouldn’t matter if I said that it was there. Well they all laughed and he got his back up and said to me that if it was there I should remove it. So I grabbed a napkin off the table, slid it under his nose and the booger came off on the napkin. He didn’t say another word; he just got up from the table and didn’t talk to me until the following school year. I guess I should have taken him aside to tell him but it was sticking out of his nose for all to see so I figured it wouldn’t be a problem saying that it was there since everyone was staring at it like the proverbial elephant in the room that everyone pretends isn’t there. I was being honest! But on that day I should have been discreet. But on that day I guess I should have been discreet. But that is not the only reason I think you can be too honest. What happens when a person shows you pictures of their child or grandchild? Do you say, “Wow! That is the ugliest kid I’ve ever see,” if it happens to be the ugliest kid you’ve ever seen? No you find something obvious you can say like, “Look at those eyes” or “What a lot of hair” or “what a cute little bald head” because heads are neither cute nor ugly. So you can get away with that.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

