Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale

Standard

When was the last time you did something completely new and out of your element? How was it? Will you do it again?

I did something completely new in September and in December. I September I began taking guitar lessons. I had never taken any kind of lessons at all in the past. When I was twelve I wanted to take tap dancing lessons but my mother said that when she paid for my sister to take tap dancing lessons she quit and so she wasn’t going to waste her money on lessons for someone else just to have the money go to waste. Now what my sister quitting had to do with whether or not I would quit I don’t know, but I never got to take lessons. And then when I was in the eighth grade the school said they were going to have a bunch of us kids learn to play an instrument. I wanted to learn to play the trumpet and I signed up for that but the school ended up never getting the instruments and so once again I didn’t get to take lessons. Then I bought a guitar because I found one on sale for fifty dollars and I began trying to learn to play by ear, but then one of my brothers’ friends came by and asked if he could borrow it for a week. Being a friend of the family I thought it would be okay but that was the last time I saw that guitar. So once all the kids graduated from high school I decided to take care of myself and start taking lessons and I began in September 2013.
In December I came across a Youtube video of someone showing off their mixed media art and fell in love with the art form. It’s a form of art that was started by ‘Scrapbookers’. It’s the kind of art they were doing in their scrapbooks but it turned the corner and turned into a standalone thing and a form of self expression. I had already challenged myself to begin an art journal back in 2011 but I had only done about ten pages and then I forgot all about it. After finding the mixed media art I resurrected the art book and began doing pages in that. I still have a long way to go with mixed media; I have a problem mixing my media, sometimes using only one or two forms of art in a piece. And I hardly ever do any journaling on these pages but I’m sure that is going to come with time. So yeah, I have tried new things and I do it all the time.
How was it? Fantastic! I’m enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would and you bet your life I’d do it again.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

