Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

Standard

What does “happiness” look like to you?
I was all prepared to write that happiness looked like a spring day with flowers waving in the breeze and a wide, green, grassy field or a field of flowers with warm wind skittering across your skin and the sun shining down; not too hot, not too cool. Running along the beach in your bare feet with the smell of the sea in the air. Or standing on the shore letting the waves lap up onto your feet and feeling the tug of the water as it returns to the sea. But then I looked up at the TV and they were showing people with their coats and knit caps on standing in line to get their chance to ski down a slope and I realized that happiness is also shushing down a powder puff slope with the brisk air kissing your cheek and falling in the snow and rolling down a snow covered slope or sliding down the slope on a sled with children and all the belly laughs that makes. That is what happiness looks like.
So happiness is a kaleidoscope of colors swirling around each other, the smell of sandalwood incense, the laughter of children and the sight of an infant in a clean, white, cloth diaper. Happiness is the smell of a newborn. Have you ever noticed that up to about three or five months old all babies have a unique smell; not Johnson’s baby care products smell but that “new human” smell that nothing else smells like. That, is happiness.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

