Daily Prompt: Simply the Best

Standard

When and where do you do your best thinking? In the bathroom? While running? Just before bed, or first thing in the morning? On the bus? Why do you think that is?
For some reason I do my best thinking in the bathroom. I could be in the shower, I could be on the toilet or I could be brushing my teeth but I get my best ideas in the bathroom. I do my next best thinking when I’m upstairs praying. I think the reason I do my best thinking in these two situations is because I am alone with all extraneous noise blocked out, and as far as prayer is concerned I’m in an almost meditative state. These things make me think that when I’m writing I should cut out all noise and at least turn off the TV but I have such a habit of wanting to be in the part of the house where everybody else is that I don’t do that. Of course, even if I moved away from all the distractions I would still have some music playing because different types of music assists you in writing different types of scenes. For instance, I don’t see a person writing a fight scene while Thais is playing. Unless, of course, you’re writing a scene where people are fighting in a ballroom while there is a dance going on in the next room.

About windwalker07

I'm a Jamerican; American born of 2 Jamaican parents. I am a voracious reader, a writer, a wife and a mother of 5 (1 girl). My favorite genre is science fiction but I will read anything. my favorite author right now is Lee Child (this changes often) I listen to all kinds of music but my favorites are jazz, Latin-jazz and classical. I write whatever comes to me and I've learned to start whether I have something or not.

Leave a Reply

